Competition 2010: Attack of the 999 Cones

Competition 2010: Attack of the 999 Cones

by Bernie Hogancamp, PCI #498
Homewood (IL) Police Department

After a week of fine Missouri weather, the day of the competition dawned grey, wet, and chilly.  Things were looking ominous, but then, just before the appointed time, the clouds broke, revealing for the competitors the 999 cone (and obstacle) course designed by the innovative and diabolical partnership of Gary McLaughlin, Tom Woods and Mike Johnston.  From the starting gate under the canopy of a huge tent, through the maze of cones, teeter-totters, ramps and pallets, the competitors beat back the chilly temperatures with their competitive heat.

The mostly international Team Montreal/Washington took home the team honors with a top combined time of 6:40.26, followed closely by Team Bratwear in second (7:17.41) and Team We’re Not from Here in third (8:04.41).

In the always competitive Open category of bike industry members, annual favorite Eric Kackley of Volcanic Bicycles posted the top time of 1:27.77, followed by Mitch Johnson of Ghisallo Sports (1:32.28) in second and Brad Engbarth, representing iForce Bicycles (1:36.59), in third.

The under-30 age group had a strong showing with Scott Goff, Hamilton County Sheriffs Office (T.E.A.M.), coming in first at 1:58.23 and Christopher Tenley, Richmond Ambulance Authority (Team Unattached), right behind him at 2:02.97, in second place.

The 30-to-39 age group blistered the course with two of the top three fastest times of the day.  Darren Conradi, hailing from Queensland Police Service in Brisbane, Australia (We’re Not From Here), took first in the division and second fastest overall, with a time of 1:29.15.  Pascal Richard, Service de Police de la Ville de Montreal (Team Montreal/Washington), was just a spoke-width behind him at 1:29.69, second in the division and third fastest overall.

As fast as these times were, the dominant rider of the day came from the 40-49 age group.   Adding to his medal collection, Jonathan Pesesko of Bethlehem Police (Team Bethlehem Bunny Wabbits) showed his younger brethren how it’s done with a blazingly smooth time of 1:21.25 to take first in his division and top overall time.  Another annual favorite, representing Guilford County EMS, Mike Hudspeth (Team Bratwear) sped through the course in second, with a time of 1:32.89.

Not to be outdone, in the 50+ age group, the ever-youthful Jim (JR) Roy, enjoying life after Topeka Police Department, mastered the course with a time of 1:39.17 and took first in his division.

Guest pro Shaums March ran the course twice – after breaking his chain during the demo ride, he brought the competition to a close by floating effortlessly through the course in a quick 1:09 minutes. 

All forty-four riders from eleven teams showed their competitive spirit and put on an entertaining show for the crowd.  Even after staring in amazement at the massive array of cones, they all valiantly attacked the course and proved once again to be the best of the best of public safety cycling.

2010 Competition Results


Male under 30
Scott Goff – 1:58.23, Hamilton County (IN) Sheriffs Office (Team T.E.A.M.)
Christopher Tenley – 2:02.97, Richmond (VA) Ambulance Authority (Team Unattached)

Male 30-39
Darren Conradi – 1:29.15 **3rd Overall**, Queensland (Australia) Police Service (Team We’re Not from Here)
Pascal Richard – 1:29.69, Service de Police de la Ville de Montreal (Canada) (Team Montreal/Washington)

Male 40-49
Jon Pesesko – 1:21.25 **1st Overall**, Bethlehem (PA) Police Department (Team Bethlehem Bunny Wabbits)
Mike Hudspeth – 1:32.89, Guilford County (NC) EMS (Team Bratwear)

Male 50+
Jim “JR” Roy – 1:39.17, Topeka (KS) Police Department, retired (Team Bratwear)


Team Montreal/Washington – 6:40.26
Sylvain Brousseau, Service de Police de la Ville de Montreal (Canada)– 1:42.45
Yves Dube, Service de Police de la Ville de Montreal (Canada) – 1:36.19
Mike Harris, Mill Creek (WA) Police Department – 1:51.93
Pascal Richard, Service de Police de la Ville de Montreal (Canada) – 1:29.69

Team Bratwear – 7:17.41
Don Coppola, Baton Rouge (LA) Police Department – 2:31.23
Alex Hasse, Cincinnati (OH) Police Division – 1:34.12
Mike Hudspeth, Guilford County (NC) EMS – 1:51.93
Jim “J.R.” Roy, Topeka (KS) Police Department, Retired – 1:39.17

Team We’re Not from Here – 8:04.41
Darren Conradi, Queensland (Australia) Police Service – 1:29.15
Scott Elliott, Niagara Regional Police Service (Canada) – 2:11.02
Michael Robertson, Queensland (Australia) Police Service – 2:19.52
Joshua Rymon, Metropolitan (DC) Police Department – 2:04.72


Eric Kackley – 1:27.77 **2nd Overall** , Volcanic Bicycles
Mitch Johnson – 1:32.28, Ghisallo Sports
Brad Engbarth – 1:36.59, iForce Bicycles

© 2010 IPMBA.  This article appeared in the Summer 2010 issue of IPMBA News.

Share this post

Leave a comment