IPMBA Conference Archives

2012 IPMBA Conference

Saint Paul’s first bicycle officers hit the streets rolling in 1897, and from the perspective of the 2012 IPMBA Conference attendees, they haven’t stopped since! Nearly 200 bike officers and medics gathered in Saint Paul from April 27-May 5, 2012, for the purpose of honing their public safety cycling skills. Saint Paul delivered on the promise of providing a venue worthy of IPMBA’s world-class training. Attendees explored the gracious neighborhoods on Summit and Grand Avenues, the spacious State Capitol Complex grounds, parks and trails along the scenic Mississippi River, and even a defunct brewery in their pursuit of excellence. They also followed in the footsteps of “public enemies” like John Dillinger, Ma Barker, Prettyboy Floyd, and Babyface Nelson, who sought safe haven in Saint Paul during the 1920’s and 1930’s. The history of this era was brought to life during a tour of the Wabasha Street Caves, once home to a speakeasy and nightclub called the Castle Royal, as well as a fascinating presentation by crime historian Paul Maccabee, author of John Dillinger Slept Here. Between the history, the hospitality, the bike-friendly downtown, and the excellent organization of the host committee, Saint Paul proved to be an ideal location for an IPMBA Conference!

Photo Gallery

  • 2012 IPMBA Conference
  • 2012 IPMBA Conference
  • 2012 IPMBA Conference
  • 2012 IPMBA Conference
  • 2012 IPMBA Conference
  • 2012 IPMBA Conference
  • 2012 IPMBA Conference
  • 2012 IPMBA Conference
  • 2012 IPMBA Conference
  • 2012 IPMBA Conference

Thanks to Our Hosts

The IPMBA board, staff, members, and conference attendees extend their sincere thanks to the Saint Paul Police Department (SPPD) for hosting the 22nd Annual IPMBA Conference.  They could not have organized such a fine event without the generous assistance of the Minneapolis Police Department (MPD).  Support was also provided by the Cottage Grove Police Department, the Minneapolis-Saint Paul International Airport Police Department (MSP), who opened their doors to the first airport bicycle operations workshop, and the University of Minnesota Police Department.

IPMBA would like to recognize the many dedicated individuals who participated in the planning and implementation of the conference.  The effort was spearheaded by Saint Paul Officers Jason Bain and Anthony Holte, who began the process of bringing IPMBA to Saint Paul shortly after attending the 2009 IPMBA Conference in Albuquerque.  Their enthusiasm was contagious and in early 2010, Saint Paul was awarded the event.

The excitement kept building as their fellow IPMBA Instructors Murray Prust (SPPD) and Sgt. David Hansen and Officers Jim Bulleigh and Dan Lysholm from “across the river” in Minneapolis jumped on board, along with John Zizzo of MSP Airport Police.

As the conference gained momentum, so grew the list of supporting personnel to include the following dedicated individuals.

From Saint Paul Police Department:  Sgt. John Lozoya and Officers Charley Ankney, John Conrad, Chris Hanson, Eric Kammerer, Cary Lee, Ted Macintosh, Rich McGuire, Dan Micherner, Jen Mink, Tony Nikula, Salim Omari, Jeff Schwab, Tony Tallarico, Heather Teff, Doug Wilson, and Carlos Wong. 

From Minneapolis Police Department:  Sgts. Tim Mattsson, Marc Klukow, and Dan Swalve; Officers Kris Brown, John Chamberlain, Calvin Cook, Stephane Courtois, Jordan Davis, Ken Feucht, Cory Fitch, Jeremy Foster, Marc Gingerich, Eric Hagel, Shaun Harrington, Ryan Johnson, Michael Kirchen, Steve Klimke, John Laluzerne, Kevin Lazarchic, Chao Lee, Steve McBride, Pat McCarver, Jeff Mercill, Jamiel Mohammad, Mike Moor, Ryan O’Hara, Jamie Schwartz, Scott Shepard, Kevin Wells, and Joe Will.

From Minneapolis-Saint Paul Airport Police Department:  Lt. Keith Roediger, Sgt. John Christenson, and Officer Chris Moen.  From Minneapolis-Saint Paul Airport Fire Department:  Jennifer Toavs; from University of Minnesota Police Department:  IPMBA Instructor Lara Bauer; from Cottage Grove Police Department:  IPMBA Instructor Bryce Wanek; and from Ramsey County Emergency Communication Center:  Emily Debroux.

The list goes on to include Saint Paul Police Reserves Kevin Blanchard, Tyler Boettcher, Ken Bronk, Carolina Contreras, Jacob Coulson, Jacob Coulson, Kyle Curry, Jenel Farrell, Randy Hamilton, Mary Hanson, Michael Hayden, Larry Langlois, Jonathan Miller, Matt Osborne, Mike Parkos, Mark Reierson, and Don Scanell; Ramsey County Sheriffs Office Reserves Gary Baldwin, Rachel Canning, Harry Crump, Jeff Horonski, Michael Howe, Ler Htoo, Dallas Jones, Ray Knoblauch, Jason Lind, Bill Naegely, Derek Noles, Jim Opine, Kathie Strong, and Allan Vang; and Saint Paul Police Explorers Ryan Allen, Alania Carrion, Jon Douglas, Kadejsha Kibble, Adesola Macey, Josh Moua, Alyssa Oliveraz, Justo Ramirez, Anna Roe, Randy Vasquez, and Parker.

IPMBA also appreciates the support of the Saint Paul business community, especially the Eagle Street Grille for hosting nightly hospitality, and Bloomington-based Quality Bicycle Products for hosting the competition awards ceremony and dinner. 

Finally, IPMBA thanks all those who attended the conference.  Overcoming the obstacles of tight budgets and manpower shortages is indeed an impressive feat.  Without you, the efforts of everyone mentioned above would have been for naught.

Visit the 2012 Flickr Photo Collection at: http://www.flickr.com/photos/97613337@N07/collections/72157634215863567/



The International Police Mountain Bike Association (IPMBA) is a non-profit educational organization providing resources, networking opportunities, and the best, most complete training for public safety bicyclists.

Contact Us

  • Address: 583 Frederick Road, Suite 5B, Baltimore, MD United States 21228

  • Phone: 410-744-2400

  • Fax: 410-744-5504

  • Email: info@ipmba.org


Enter your e-mail and subscribe to our newsletter.

* indicates required

Follow Us